Do what thou wilt shall be the whole of the Law.

Membership in the A∴ A∴ is divided into a series of successive stages known as grades. They are:

  • Probationer (0=0)
  • Neophyte (1=10)
  • Zealator (2=9)
  • Practicus (3=8)
  • Philosophus (4=7)
  • Dominus Liminis
  • Adeptus Minor (5=6)
  • Adeptus Major (6=5)
  • Adeptus Exemptus (7=4)
  • Magister Templi (8=3)
  • Magus (9=2)
  • Ipssissimus (10=1)

An individual meeting the requirements for advancement may be admitted into the next grade only by a member of that grade (or higher). Thus, to be admitted into the A∴ A∴ as a Probationer requires a Neophyte to accept one’s pledge. The admitting Neophyte then serves as that person’s teacher, and usually provides the only formal contact with the Order. All instruction is passed this way from teacher to student, rather than in any group setting.

The best preparation for the Work of the Outer College of the A∴ A∴ is that established by the Order itself — the Student curriculum. The A∴ A∴ does not mandate or recommend association with any other organization as a necessary prerequisite for admission, or accept such associations as equivalent to the curricula established by its Authority.

Love is the law, love under will.

Further Information: